

ANNEXURE B

The Syndicate of the University of Calcutta in its session dated March 16, 2010 (vide Item 1, following item no. 23 of the Syndicate March 2, 2010) has confirmed the proceedings of the meeting of the Special Committee constituted to recommend the modalities of different Inoperative Endowment Funds held on 09.02.2010.

Venue: The Chamber of the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic Affairs)

Time : 2 PM

Members Present:

The Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic Affairs) The Dean, Faculty Council for P G Studies in Arts The Dean, Faculty Council for P G Studies in Science The Dean, Faculty Council for P G Studies in Technology

Recommendations:

As the University of Calcutta had tried all possible ways to get suggestions – by drawing a notification in the Ananda Bazar Patrika, the Statesman and the Ganasakti on 2^{nd} January,2010 and by posting a notice in the University website <u>www.caluniv.ac.in</u> with a period of one month for submission of the same – from the donors or their legal heirs before amendment of at present twenty-six inoperative endowment funds (as per the resolution adopted in the meeting dated 8.12.2005 item 15 of T & G Committee, the Syndicates dated 31.1.2006 item 20 /14.2.2006 item 1) and failed to get any such suggestion, the Committee recommends that:

- a) Bently Memorial Medal , b) Captain Sures Bhattacharyya Medal, c) Emperor Edward VII Coronation Medal and d) Grant Medal & Prize Funds be clubbed to institute " Bently-Sures-Grant-Coronation Book Prize" and the prize be awarded to the topper amongst the Calcutta University Under-Graduates admitted to P G in Human Development.
- 2) a) Bankubehari Gupta Prize and b) Dr. J. N. Dutt Medal funds be clubbed to institute "**Dr. J. N. Dutt and Bankubehari Gupta Book Prize**" and the

prize be awarded to the topper amongst the Calcutta University Under-Graduates admitted to P G in Microbiology.

- 3) The word 'Hindu' in Baradakanta Opthalmic Prize be omitted.
- 4) Endowment Fund 'Bipin Behari Sarkar Sarkar Memorial Scholarship' as mentioned in the University records (e.g. in Annual Budget/Estimate Book F/Y 2009-10) be read as 'Bipas Behari Sarkar Memorial Scholarship'.
- 5) The following endowment eleven funds be clubbed together –for some of them have meager fund position to institute the University Endowment Book Prize – I (2010) and out of the yield of the said fund book prizes of equal value be awarded to the toppers amongst the Calcutta University Under-Graduates admitted to P G in Physiology and Bio-Chemistry
 - a) Bipas Behari Sarkar Mem. Scholarship
 - b) Chunilal Bose Medal & Prize
 - c) Birendranath Datta Memorial Medal
 - d) Dr. Mahendranath Ganguli Medal
 - e) Dr. Narendranath Basu Gold Medal
 - f) Dr. Rai Debendranath Ray Bahadur Gold Medal
 - g) Dr. Rakhaldas Ghosh Prize
 - h) Dr. S. K. Mukherjee Medal
 - i) Goodeve Medal
 - j) Lokmanya Bal Gangadhar Tilak Mem. Silver Medal
 - k) Kalyan Kumar Mukherjee Research Scholarship
- 6) a) Binode Chandra Mitter Memorial Scholarship, b) Atul Chandra Ghosh Memorial Medal & Prize and c) Akshoy Kumar Ghosh Memorial Silver Medal funds be clubbed together to institute the "Atul-Binod-Akshoy Prize" and out of the yield of the said fund book prize be, henceforth, awarded to the topper in the Final B. A. LL. B from the University College of Law, Hazra.
- 7) **Sir Asutosh Mookerjee Law Prize** be henceforth awarded as book prize to the topper in Hons. in B. A. LL. B from the University College of Law, Hazra.
- 8) Dr. Kamal Krishna Raha Scholarship be, henceforth, awarded as Dr. **Kamal Krishna Raha Book Prize** to the toppers amongst the Calcutta University Under-Graduates admitted to P G in

Education, Electrical Engineering, Instrumentation, Pure Chemistry Anthropology, Oil Technology, Applied Optics & Photonics and Ceramic Engineering

9) Pabitra Kumar Sen & Kamala Sen Scholarship be, henceforth, awarded, in lump, to one male and one female toppers amongst the

Calcutta University Under-Graduates admitted to P G in Agriculture considering all its streams.

- 10) Asok Kumar Saha Charitable Trust Scholarship be, henceforth, awarded, in lump, to the toppers amongst the Calcutta University Under-Graduates admitted to P G in English.
- 11) Biharilal Mandakini Scholarship be, henceforth, awarded **Biharilal Mandakini Book Prize** to the toppers amongst the Calcutta University Under-Graduates admitted to P G in Bengali.

It is also recommended that

- a) the fund management be done accordingly with a view to get the maximum interest for the awards after deduction of annual service charges by the university,
- b) the award be made from the academic session 2010-11 and
- c) the amendment, when accepted, be posted in the university website for an onemonth duration.